Linen skirt

Hey guys, long time no post.

I’ve been joining in with me-made-may on instagram and took a few extra pictures so I could finally share some of my recent projects on the blog. First off, here is a recap of my first few MMMay garments

Linen-skirt

Day 1: Linen skirt

orange-skirt

Day 2: Peach cami and orange skirt. I don’t wear the cami that often as the fabric is a bit funny and without the correct undergarment the facing looks bad. I really like the concept of it though so if I find a similar coloured fabric I may recreate it.

shirtdress

Day 3: Linen dress. I also don’t wear this very much as the waist is a little snug. I can do it up but it feels uncomfortable in a sitting position. Bearable, but not something I really want to be dealing with often.

flannel

Day 4: Flannel shirt

I will go in detail on the orange skirt and flannel top soon – Today it is all about the linen skirt.

skirt-on

Which doesn’t really have hanger appeal!

hanger

So this project was inspired by pinterest (of course) and constructed over a year ago! The pattern is actually a dress pattern (the popular Mc’calls 6696) which I used the skirt pieces from. I was pregnant at the time though so didn’t attached the front placket for fear that I’d make it too tight. It sat in my WIP pile giving me the evil eye.

A few months post-baby I dug it out and attached the placket and buttons. I did try it on at the time but somehow it turned out too loose. Cue a little more languishing in the WIP pile before I unpicked the placket top and waistband and fixed it. All that unpicking meant that it’s not the tidiest sewing you’ll see, however I much prefer something imperfect that fits!

imside

I really like the finished garment but it definitely has it’s faults and I’ve learnt a few things to take into future projects.  I really should have constructed it with the waistband continuing across the placket. It’s just not strong enough as it is and pulls horribly. The linen also contributes to this, you can see how it retains the ‘wonky’ shape – the shirtdress above does similar.

front

It’s a shame I didn’t have enough leftover to make another waistband as I’m not sure it will last well. I try not to wear it too frequently or for ‘active’ events where it may get distorted further. sigh. Despite this I really love the fabric and wooden buttons and think they work together perfectly.

OK I think that’s it, I’ll be back soon with some more MMMay updates and new garments.

9 thoughts on “Linen skirt

  1. The skirt is lovely – warts and all. I would never have noticed, and you wear it well. I’m loving all this MMM stuff – and looking forward to posting my own roundups too. Could you let the linen dress out through the waist? Or insert a panel of something to create more room?

    • Yeah it’s great seeing how people wear things and hearing what gets the most wear. I don’t know if the dress is fixable, but I do have a younger sister who is always willing to try my cast-offs!

    • You should Christy! The concept of it seems kind of mumsy to me (sounds strange saying that when I am a mum!) but that pinterest picture really sold it to me… Good old pinterest!

  2. Your skirt is lovely – I have that pattern half made with months, but can’t find time to get back to it. Could you reinforce the back of the waist with grosgrain ribbon or similar? Also adding a trouser hook just under button might help maybe 🙂

    • I did something similar to the trouser hook on the dress version and it looks a bit strange. The weave of linen means it pulls weirdly.. Oh well, it’s all in my ‘knowledge bank’ now for future linen projects. It’s a really nice pattern, you should really pick up that WIP!

  3. I LOVE the linen dress (that’s also a great picture of you). You should really do something to make it more wearable, then wear it all the time.

    • Haha! I do really like it.. but maybe on someone else? The full skirt is so ‘feminine’. I think the only way I can make it more wearable is to lose weight from only my waist which would probably require a medical procedure!

Leave a Reply

