Llama printed t-shirt

H_llama

This top is exciting not only because I made it, but because I printed llamas on it! To be honest I’m not really sure why I went with llama’s but I think the composition of how they’re sitting is kind of nice 🙂 The picture is from a book of old copyright free images incase you’re wondering. There are all kind of animals in it and I have seen a few of the images (particularly an octopus) used by etsy sellers on various things.

I could probably go on for ages about screen printing, but basically I bought a few bits and pieces that allow me to use the photo-emulsion method at home and earlier this year I did a bit of trial and error trying to figure out the specifics of getting the correct exposure on my screen. I think I might have nailed it.. but then other things got in the way so I haven’t done enough to know. If you have no idea what I’m talking about, just know that this method allows for much finer, detailed images that can be printed over and over again without damaging the stencil. It takes a bit of time though and involves things like very dark rooms, very bright lights, chemicals and a waterblaster!

The little green triangles are printed using one screen and the llamas with another. I didn’t mind that the triangles show through the llama, actually I quite like it.

close-upH_llama_side

I love how this turned out and I really hope I manage to get back into printing over summer. I want to print some lengths of fabric for my own clothes actually but I’m not entirely sure what of yet. If you have any ideas that you’re cool with me stealing, let me know – haha ;

I’ve got to give my son a lot of love for posing for these pictures for me. It was actually kind of cold and he was desperate to go on the swing but managed to stay still (and cute!) for just long enough. I put his jumper back on straight after btw.. I’m usually a good mum 🙂

5 thoughts on “Llama printed t-shirt

  1. So cute! I was thinking of doing some screen printing (I wanted car/truck/emergency vehicle sheets for Tommy, and anything I can find is disappointing both in terms of the print and the polyester content). I decided it was too much work, particularly because I have no idea what I’m doing.

    • haha, I reckon sheets would be quite an epic task! I tried to sew a duvet cover once and it was just so much fabric to handle at once and trying to line everything up straight etc, when you don’t have much flat floor space to lay it out. I imagine screen printing would be similar!

      • A friend of mine studied textiles at art school, so she’s my go-to girl for questions about… Well, all sorts of things. She said I’d need multiple screens, and that lining them up properly (she’s a perfectionist) would be a nightmare. I decided she was probably right.

  2. The llama looks amazing. So professional! I’d love to know more about your screen printing process, I’ve only done printing with freezer paper before and it was…okay. Not great. You should print cat fabric and I’d totally buy it from you 😛

    • Thanks 🙂 I will do a blog post on it sometime because I think it’s pretty interesting. I’ve tried the freezer paper method too and had similar results. Hope you’re having a good trip!

Leave a Reply

