New to Me: By Hand London Georgia

If you follow The Monthly Stitch you will know that they are hosting Indie Pattern Month throughout June, which includes a few competitions. I decided to enter the ‘New to me’ category because I have hardly used any indie pattern companies at all. I’ve had my eye on a few different options, but the thought of piecing together any pdf patterns was far too much effort, so that narrowed it down to printed patterns I could get my hands on within a few days. Ever since By Hand London’s Georgia was released I have loved it, so I ordered the pattern from NZ online shop Dresses and Me and it arrived within a few days. That exciting feeling of fun mail + new pattern!!  (Let’s just all ignore the fact that I never go out anywhere that warrants a sexy dress at the moment…)

I am still really busy with uni as it’s exam time but sometimes a girl’s just got to break up all that cramming, and sewing is just the tonic.

NS_georgia_1

NS_georgia_close-up

The fabric I used was a stretch cotton that looks as though it has a waffle weave, from The Fabric Store. I was so close to buying a white stretch cotton but I thought it might look a bit ‘liz hurley’ combined with the shortness of the dress (the woman at the counter agreed!). The texture of the black fabric also won me over. There is an invisible zip down the side seam which I picked out of my stash (and if we’re being honest here, it’s actually dark navy blue). I know it’s sort of boring using black – but it’s a colour I wear all the time and every girl needs a LBD right? I have already got a colourful printed sateen for my next version though, yippee!

NS_georgia_back

I had to do a lot of adjusting to get this right, but I think that’s the nature of fitted silhouette like this and most people would have to make changes. I cut out the size that corresponded with my measurements but it was far too big. I ended up removing 2 inches from the width which took ages because there are a number of seams, and it was difficult to know if the fit was right until the zip was in.

NS_georgia_2

My adjustments worked quite well but I it is a little bit too tight under the bust now. It’s not uncomfortable at all but there are pull lines across the rib cage 😦 If I made this version of the dress again I might shorten the straps a tiny bit. I’m not sure if that would be a wise decision or not though, and probably a little more wear is needed to know. Honestly though, I love this dress – the straps are what does it for me. This is something I would definitely try on in a shop and I am 100% going to make it again (maybe even tomorrow!).

If you like this dress too, VOTE FOR ME on The Monthly Stitch! Don’t even bother looking at the other entrants. Haha, just kidding, you totally should – there are some great garments and some pattern companies I’ve never heard of before. I particularly liked this sewaholic cordova (I think I want that pattern) and this style arc jacket.

I wish someone had made Named patterns Ailakki jumpsuit. I am obsessed with that thing! Maybe you should make it?

4 thoughts on “New to Me: By Hand London Georgia

Leave a Reply

