Disco Leopard

OK, so first off – Kelvin has my blog as his homepage (yah, I don’t know why either?), anyway yesterday he exclaimed “you have a sponsor!”. I was like.. “what??”. I had to explain to him that the buttons in my sidebar are of pages I like, not the other way round. Tee hee. Love his enthusiasm!

Image

On Fashion Police George said that leopard is a ‘neutral’. Does fluorescent leopard print count?

To continue with the fluorescent orange theme, here is a leopard print top I’ve made. It’s loosely self drafted from a basic dress bodice because I wanted more of a racer neckline (my favorite kind!). I know it’s pretty simple and probably doesn’t look like it needs a muslin, but I really like the fabric so went ahead and made one. 

The muslin showed that I needed to take the side seams in a little just below the armpit so I got cracking on the real version (which included underlining), made the required alterations, made and attached bias binding to the arms/neckline, and… the bloody armholes are too small! The chest darts are also a bit high, so I am kicking myself for that stupid side adjustment. Drafting is just not my forte. I am really in need of some tops/blouses so will have to hunt out some good patterns. Ahh well, you win some you lose some right?

Image

Leave a Reply

